About myself

Hello, my name is Meliena and I’m a 27-year old adventurer living in the USA, the place where it all began for me (and my sisters). I was born in Boston to Belgium parents on July 27th 1990, but after seven years of living the American life, my parents decided it was time to head back home. I was only four at the time, so my memories are almost non-existant. During my childhood we spent a lot of time travelling the States, visiting national parks and friends that my parents had made a long time ago. At sixteen I visited my father’s AFS parents for three weeks in Pen Argyl (PA) and that was pretty much the last time I was in the USA (unless you count the one day visit to Seattle or the ten hour overlay in Miami airport, which I don’t.) At eighteen, I decided to have my own AFS adventure and lived 11 months in a hostfamily in Paraguay, South-America. It was the year everything changed for me, even if I didn’t realize it at the moment. The next five years I started and finished my studies as a translator (English and Spanish) and not ready yet for work, I decided to go au pairing in New Zealand. That too, was a period where I learned a lot. I learned how to take care of children, I learned to drive on the left side of the road (which is surprisingly easy) and I learned how to deal with adversity in life. Even though I had a lot more problems to surmount than expected, if I could I would do it all over again. But now it’s time for my next adventure: The US. You can read all about it here on my blog.


Me in 2012 at my mom’s 50th birthday party

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: