Sales

It’s a well-known phenomenon how in Belgium de shops are always busier in January and July, thanks to sales. These are the only two months stores can put up posters outside to announce sales and discounts. Not so in the USA. Stores don’t even need an excuse to have sales: Black Friday, End of Summer sale, Start of Summer sale, Memorial Day sale, Fourth of July sale, half of the time you can buy clothes at a reduced price.
Even though it’s nice, it’s also tricky. Before you know it you’re going home with two pair of pants because they were having a BOGO 50% off sale, or three shirts even though you only needed one but they had free shipping if you spent more than $50 etc.
In the beginning I was lured in with these promotions, but now that I’m about to move I’m going to clean out my closet and then I’ll  notice if there is something I really need. I’m gonna go ahead and say it won’t be the case. but now with my new position I might want to invest in some basic formal clothing. Thank god there’s another sale happening 🙂

Warm greetings from Pen Argyl!

Leave a Reply

