I made it!

The past four weeks have flown by and crawled by at the same time, but I made it. I can’t remember the last time I worked that hard for four weeks non-stop, but now that’s officially over. Of course I’m happy I don’t have to get up at six am tomorrow, but the fact that I’m not attending input sessions every morning and teaching every afternoon also means I won’t see my course mates as often, and that makes me not so happy. Luckily a couple of us are staying in Boston for now and I won’t be all by myself. The next two weeks my plans are pretty limited: meeting friends, finding a job, and finding a new place to stay. Let’s hope I can find the last two fairly easily.
Bertrand is coming to visit from the 29th of October until the 11th of November and we’re going to do a road-trip through New England. We don’t have a detailed plan yet, but Bertrand bought the Lonely Planet and I’m checking the Internet for good advice. We have ten days to see how far we can get 🙂 I’m looking forward to our little vacation, I’ve never seen the American east coast and it’s the perfect time to discover the beautiful nature New England has to offer us.
I’m nervous for what comes after that, but also excited. The independence work will give me, living in the US of A, teaching, these are all things I’ve been dreaming of for a while. And even though it won’t be easy to miss Bertrand, I know we’re strong enough to be able to do this. And I’m not all alone here. I have made friends during the course (CELTA 8 for the win) that I won’t soon forget, dad’s American (AFS) family is here for me and now that I’m the proud owner of a smartphone, my sisters, parents, and friends back in Belgium are never far away.
Talking to everyone I have met here, I realize once again how privileged I was growing up. I never had to pay rent before now, or make sure I had food, clothes and transport. My parents paid for all of my education and I got pocket money every month over the years. But at the same time they taught me the value of money. Much more than before I think twice before buying something, try to look for sales and buy as much as possible in cheaper supermarket chains. I know I am lucky to have such great parents! They prepared me as well as they could’ve for my adventure and they’ve definitely deserved their own adventure. Thanks mom and dad!

Leave a Reply

