Arrival in crazy New York

Hi everyone! I’ve only been in the States for a couple of days, but already a lot has happened, so I’ll get started right away. After a three-hour flight with IcelandAir to Reykjavik and a flight of a mere six hours (once you fly to the other side of the world every other flight less than nine hours seems like nothing) I finally arrived in crazy New York. I had booked a shuttle that morning before leaving from the airport to my hostel in Queens, but upon my arrival in the airport I found out they didn’t go to Queens… I complained to the organisation, who then blamed Viator (the organization with which I had booked the shuttle) and eventually got into a cab. One of these days I’ll be calling Viator to get my money back (Luckily I only had to pay 15 euros). Forty dollars later I arrived in my hostel, Q4 (you can check the website here: http://www.q4hotel.com/), which is a really good hostel. Due to the lack of elevator I dragged my two bags to my room on the third floor (second floor in Belgian terms) en dumped them in my room. Then I took the subway to the heart of New York city, fifth avenue, to grab a quick bite and buy my new macbook. That store is just crazy! There are no registers to be seen because everything happens with a machine that looks a lot like an iPhone but can also read credit cards (and other cards as well, I assume). There were around 300 people in the store around that time, which was 10.30PM and when I asked whether it was always this busy at this time, the employee told me it was fairly quiet today. I can only imagine what that place must look like when a new iPhone is released… Then I went back to my hostel to get some sleep, because it was gonna be a busy weekend…

I could write so much more about New York, but seeing as a picture is worth a thousand words, I’d rather show you what I did.

  1. Visit to Museum of Modern arts (MoMA)
    See a shoe and pick it up and all day long you'll have good luck!
    See a shoe and pick it up and all day long you’ll have good luck!
    Andy Warhol's Marylin Monroe
    Andy Warhol’s Marylin Monroe
    Electrical flower
    Electrical flower

    2. Daytime AND nighttime visit to Empire State building
    IMG_4284

    Mandatory selfy
    Mandatory selfie

IMG_4326

IMG_4327

IMG_4328

3. Visit to the Metropolitan museum (the Met)

Dress made by Chanel for Japanese exhibition
Dress made by Chanel for Japanese exhibition
Famous drawing by Katsushika Hokusai
Famous drawing by Katsushika Hokusai
A taxidermied deer surrounded by artificial crystal glass
A taxidermied deer surrounded by artificial crystal glass

I also wanted to go see The Lion King: the Musical, but there weren’t any tickets left… Luckily I got to see it the next day 🙂

Sunday was my last day in New York, and there were still a lot of things I wanted to do, so it was a busy day!

  1. Boatride around Ellis Island and Staten Island
    Centre where all the immigrants arrived on Ellis island
    Centre where all the immigrants arrived on Ellis island
    New York skyline
    New York skyline
    Lady Liberty
    Lady Liberty

    2. Visit to the National Museum of American History

    Live axolotl!
    Live axolotl!
    Live Peacock Mantis Shrimp
    Live Peacock Mantis Shrimp
    A lizard that can squirt blood out of its eyes over a distant of four feet. Hooray...
    A lizard that can squirt blood out of its eyes over a distant of four feet. Hooray…
    T-Rex! Rawr!
    T-Rex! Rawr!
    Triceratops
    Triceratops

    3. The Lion King musical on Broadway

    Times Square
    Times Square

    4. Visit to the 9/11 Memorial and Museum

    Waterfall where the twin towers used to be.
    Waterfall where the twin towers used to be.
    Artwork by 9/11 survivors: Trying to Remember the Color of the Sky on That September Morning
    Artwork by 9/11 survivors: Trying to Remember the Color of the Sky on That September Morning
    Vesey Street staircase, now known as "The Survivors' Stairs"
    Vesey Street staircase, now known as “The Survivors’ Stairs”
    The Last Column: the last piece that was removed from Ground Zero during an official ceremony.
    The Last Column: the last piece that was removed from Ground Zero during an official ceremony.

    The museum and the Memorial were the last things I did in New York before getting on a bus to Chicago and even though it wasn’t a very happy ending, I was really impressed. Not just with the museum and the memorial, but with New York in general as well. I would have like to stay a bit longer, but New York isn’t that far from Boston, so maybe I’ll get a chance to go back.

    Right now I’m in Burlington, Wisconsin, visiting an AFS-friend from Paraguay and even though there’s not as much to do here as in New York, it’s nice to be able to unwind after such a busy weekend. Friday or Saturday we might head down to Chicago, we’re going to visit the lake, visit a friend of hers, her family all want to meet me, so we’re taking it easy, see how it goes.

    That’s it for now, I’ll keep you up to date on my other adventures!

2 thoughts on “Arrival in crazy New York”

  1. Lieve Meliena, leuk om te lezen dat je het goed stelt en al de leuke foto’s te zien ! Ervaringen opdoen zoals deze neem je mee voor de rest van je leven. Geniet ervan !!! Je hebt wel veel gedaan op zo een kort WE ! xxxx
    Je mama

  2. Telkens als ik foto’s van New York zie, verlang ik een beetje meer om ook eens te gaan. Bij jouw foto’s was het ook weer van dat 🙂 Stel het goed, Meliena! xx

Leave a Reply

