The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.

‘The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.’
Eleanor Roosevelt

I started writing this entry two years ago. One of my lifelong dreams has been to live in the United States. To go back where it all started, 24 years ago. And three weeks ago, that dream has come true. I’m overwhelmed with feelings. First of all, I’m excited. It’s been 6 years since I’ve been to the US (except for a very long overlay in Miami airport three years ago) and I feel that it’s time to go back. But I’m also afraid. Because I’ve been dreaming about this for such a long time, and what if it’s not everything that I hoped for? When I went abroad to Limerick in my school’s mandatory exchange program, I got a taste of what university in the States is like. Or so I’ve been telling myself. I’m not really sure what university in the USA is like, but movies, television series and just stories in general from fellow Americans have given this impression, and it seems all fairly similar to what I experienced in Ireland. A lot of practical assignments, a student life that revolves mainly around campus, those kind of things. (At any point, anyone who has ever attended college or university in the States, correct me if I’m wrong!) I had these ideas before I got accepted and now that I have, I can feel my imagination expanding. The more research I do into SIT, Brattleboro and the availabilities on campus, the more I can see the pieces of the puzzle falling all into place. And I know I am letting my imagination run away with me, but I allow it, because my imagination is what got me accepted in the first place. And that is exactly what this quote is all about: believing in your dreams is not enough to realize them, but it is the first step in realizing them. So I allow my crazy imagination to run its course, and who knows where it will take me? And if I get disappointed along the way, well, I’ll be one illusion poorer, and that can’t hurt either. It’s all part of growing up, right?

Leave a Reply

