Today is the first day of the rest of your life

‘Today is the first day of the rest of your life’
Abbie Hoffman

In January, more people get a gym membership. It is a signal that people always wait for a specific day to change their habits, whether it be the start of a new year, the start of a month or a personal milestone, like a birthday or the start of a new job. I understand this, but I also think it’s funny, because, like the quote says, any day can be the first day of something. I don’t know why people (myself included) wait for such a milestone to change, but it’s just what we do. And with a personal milestone coming up for myself, I find myself fantasizing of all the things I would do. For those wondering, the personal milestone is my graduation and my possible move abroad. There is a chance that I’ll be moving to Australia or New Zealand to work as an au pair (if only someone would make an offer) and I’ve been thinking of the things I want to do there, and I decided there are two things I want to do while abroad: start singing lessons and start horse back riding again. I’ve never taken singing lessons, but I really like to sing, and it would be nice if other people could enjoy my singing as much as I do, so hence the singing lessons. I have done horse back riding before, right until I left for Paraguay. Why I never got back on the horse again (literally this time) is still a mystery for me, because it is the one thing that I missed (and still miss) the most of all the hobbies I’ve had. But for me, planning things is part of the fun. So looking up riding centers and locations to take singing lessons makes me very excited, and I’m truly enjoying the anticipation. It’s a bit like planning a vacation with friends or family. And even though I’m not really going to New Zealand/Australia on vacation, of all the jobs the one of an au pair is the least busy, so I’ll definitely have some down time to travel and go see the sights. But I’m also trying not to get my hopes up, because I’ve learned from experience that expecting too much can only let you down. I’m slightly aware that I’m failing miserably at that, but hey, at least I’m aware of my expectations and I know what the consequences might be. The good thing about being aware of my expectations is that I can work to fulfill them. The expectations that I have are more about what I want to do when I get there, and not really what I hope my host family will be like or what the scenery will be like. When it comes to that, I have absolutely no idea where I will end up. But making lists of things that I certainly want to do is, in my mind, not a bad thing. If I’m going to New Zealand, I want to visit Hobbiton (where they filmed part of Lord of the Rings), and if I’m going to Australia, I want to go to Cable Beach, the second most beautiful beach in Australia (the most beautiful one is apparently very much overcrowded). For now, that is my list, oh, and visiting a zoo, which is something I try to do in every country that I visit 🙂 But hopefully I’ll be able to do that with the child(ren) I’m watching. Because which six-year-old doesn’t like animals?

Are there things you want to do when you pass a milestone? Let me know in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

