There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.

‘There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.’
Ernest Hemingway

I have always been a writer. I’ve kept diaries since I was seven and for one reason or another, words just makes so much more sense on paper than when they come out of my mouth. There has always been a story inside of me that I wanted to tell, but for some reason I never managed to get it out, or when I did, to get it just right. But it seems that I am finally on the right track. The strange thing is, I get most of my writing done when I force myself to sit down and tell myself I have to write (for example) 2000 words before I can get up and do something else. Sometimes I get up and go out, happy that I finished my 2000 words, but there are times that I find my imagination is on a roll and I just keep going. It’s not easy, because the story is already in my head from the beginning to the end, but I have to brace my enthusiasm and let the characters go through the motions and not skip to the end. In a way, I can imagine how J.K. Rowling felt when she wrote the last Harry Potter book right after she wrote the first one.
I like to think that what I write doesn’t contain too much of my own life, and I try, but I know that how much I don’t want to, I do draw from my personal experience. I don’t know why it bothers me, maybe it gives me a sense that my imagination is not as vast as I think it is. Or maybe I’m convinced it’s not what professional writers do, although it probably is. It’s a strange, ongoing battle between how I feel and what I know, a battle that probably nearly everyone has experienced . Nevertheless, it doesn’t make it any easier. I guess I just have to overcome that fear and not be bothered when people say I am very much reflected in what I write. This is pretty much everything I have to say on this subject, but feel free to leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

