Just as a puppy can be more of a challenge than a gift, so too can the holidays

‘Just as a puppy can be more of a challenge than a gift, so too can the holidays.’
John Clayton

Christmas and New Year are approaching fast, so I thought I’d write a post about the holidays. This quote from John Clayton appeals to the pessimist in me. I like the holidays, I really do, but Christmas and New Year are one of the few days in a year you actually remember a year later. It makes me reflect on the past year, and that is not always fun. I remember last year Christmas eve was at our house. It was the first Christmas since me and my boyfriend had broken up, so that was a bit sad, but luckily both of my sisters were single as well. This year, however, both my sisters managed to get a boyfriend, unlike me. I don’t mind not having a boyfriend, because I have so much family around me, but what about the people who are going to spend Christmas eve all alone? I can’t help but wonder. I know almost for sure that I would cry and go to bed early, as if it were any other day, because I think it is so much harder being alone on days when being with your family is emphasized, than on normal days.
New Year’s Eve is something that is my friend and my enemy at the same time. I love it, because it means I can get a mentally fresh start, and look forward to what is going to happen this year. I can make up some New Year’s resolutions that I might actually keep and I get to go to an multi-country buffet. Let me explain. Every year me and my friends who went on exchange with AFS get together for New Year’s Eve at one of my best friends apartment. But the deals is everyone has to make something from their host country. So that way we have a multi-country buffet. It’s so delicious, and last year we just sat in the couch eating, talking, laughing, and when it’s a minute before midnight we start counting down. It’s something I look forward to every year.
But New Year’s Eve is also my enemy. Because it means another year has gone by. It means I have to reflect about my life in the past year. Luckily I’ve done some pre-reflecting, and it doesn’t seem so bad. I met a guy I really liked, which was fun. Unfortunately it didn’t work out according to plan, which wasn’t so fun. I took some exams which were pretty good, but I also took some exams which weren’t so good. Everything seems pretty balanced, and I don’t mind that. And I’m happy now, so that is what matters. It’s normal that one year out of a lifetime has some good times and some bad times, we just have to remember to focus on the good times and learn from the bad times. And before you know it the year is over and you get a fresh, clean, start.

Leave a Reply

